Chorley Inclusion Support Service (CISS)

Alll information and forms for CISS are held on our PADLET site which can be accessed here

District 9 Inclusion Hub (

There is a shared vision in Lancashire to ensure children and young people achieve their potential, ambitions and aspirations. In order to achieve this we need to work together locally to ensure that schools are able to better meet the needs of all pupils; and as a result reduce the number of exclusions.

A number of developments are being implemented to deliver the vision, including the establishment of ‘Inclusion Hubs’ of primary schools in each local area. A review of secondary SEMH support and alternative provision took place in 2018/19 with the aim of developing a system-led approach, which is in alignment with the developments in the primary phase. The recommendations from the review are being implemented in partnership with secondary leaders.


Intended Outcomes

The establishment of Inclusion Hubs of primary schools in each district is designed to;

  • reduce exclusions;
  • improve attendance for pupils at risk of exclusion;
  • ensure that pupils’ needs are better met by a ‘local’ offer;
  • provide high quality training for staff in schools;
  • share good practice and sign-post schools to expertise;
  • develop an agreed set of principles within each district that promotes educational inclusion and reflects the local challenges and expertise;
  • bring together schools and local authority teams (Social Care, Inclusion, School Improvement and the Children and Family Wellbeing Service) to work together to address particular issues in a locality.



Each district has been allocated £80K from 1 April 2019 – 31 March 2020. The use of this funding is to be agreed by the local DSG (District Strategic Group) who will also monitor spending and the impact on the agreed intended outcomes. The spending plans need approval from the School Improvement Area Team Leaders before the release of funds is authorised.


Chorley district (9)

In Chorley, Highfield Community Primary School have developed the following approach which was agreed by all schools at a serious of meetings in the Spring term 2019. We have employed 3 assistant psychologists (AP’s) to carry out assessments and to provide outreach support to schools, including training. These psychologists will be supervised by an experienced Educational Psychologist, Dr Zoe Owen. The focus on our project is early identification and intervention of pupils especially those aged 5-7 with SEMH issues. The AP’s will carry out a range of assessments to identify any underlying SEN and then to write bespoke plans to support that child in school. They will work with staff in school to ensure plans are implemented and to up skill staff in schools. If appropriate whole school training will also be provided. Schools can also refer in KS2 pupils who are struggling and are at risk of exclusion for a consultation with the APs for advice. These consultations will take place fortnightly. 

Our Assistant Psychologists:

Ami Yates
Bethany Crossen


If schools would like to make a referral then they need to complete the referral form and PASS rating scale and email to and one of the AP’s will be in touch. 

Oversight and reporting

))The Chair of the DSG Steering Group (nominated by headteacher members) will report on the use of funding and impact to the Children and Young People’s Partnership Board.

DSG Steering Group – to meet termly

to include the lead headteachers (nominated by the DSG) from each district, and representatives from School Improvement, Inclusion, Children’s Social Care & Children and Family Wellbeing. This Steering group will also invite representation from the Local Area Partnerships. Chorley’s lead headteacher is Andrew Proctor from Highfield Community Primary School. 

District Strategic Group (DSG) – to meet at least termly. Helen Brooks, HT Christ Church C.E Charnock Richard, Gareth Caunce, HT Primrose Hill Primary, Sue Conron, HT Duke Street & Highfield Nursery, Helen Gregson HT Balshaw Lane Primary, John Riley HT St Chads Primary, Karen Marshall, HT Manor Road Primary,  Richard Kershaw, School Improvement Service are permanent members of the group. Representatives from CSC, CFWS and LCC SEND are also invited to attend. 

One group per district with a lead headteacher and representation from local neighbourhoods and a range of schools. This meeting will be supported by local team leaders from the LA services listed above.